Family Research – English, Scottish and Irish Genealogy


The Northwest Territories


The Northwest Territories (NWT or NT; French, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest) is a territory of Canada.

Located in northern Canada, it is east of Yukon, west of Nunavut (Canada’s two other territories), and north of British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. It has an area of 1,140,835 square kilometres (440,479 sq mi) and a population of 41,464 as of the 2006 census, an increase of 11.0% from 2001. Its capital has been Yellowknife since 1967.

Geographical features include the vast Great Bear and Great Slave Lakes, as well as the immense Mackenzie River and the canyons of the Nahanni River, a national park and UNESCO World Heritage Site. Territorial islands in the Arctic Archipelago include Banks Island, Parry Peninsula, Prince Patrick Island, and parts of Victoria Island and Melville Island. The highest point is Mount Nirvana near the border with Yukon at elevation 2,773 metres (9,098 ft). for more click here

Did you like this? Share it:
Some Text