Family Research – English, Scottish and Irish Genealogy




Saskatchewan, middle of Canada’s three prairie provinces, has an area of 588,276.09 square kilometres (227,134.67 sq mi) and population of 968,157 (according to 2006 census data); mostly living in the southern half of the province. 202,340 (July 1,2006) live in Saskatoon making it the largest city, followed by the capital, Regina (population: 179,246, July 1, 2006). Other major cities, in order of size, are Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Yorkton, Swift Current, and North Battleford. Many people live in small communities making Saskatchewan known as small town Canada. List of communities in Saskatchewan.

The province’s name comes from the Saskatchewan River, whose name comes from its Cree designation: kisiskāciwani-sÄ«piy, meaning “swift flowing river. for more click here

Did you like this? Share it:
Some Text