Family Research – English, Scottish and Irish Genealogy


County Dublin-Ireland Genweb Project

Dublin (county and county borough, Republic of Ireland) in Leinster Province, adjoining the Irish Sea.

The terrain is generally flat, except in the extreme southern portion, which contains the northern extremities of the Wicklow Mountains.

The county coastline, about 113 km (about 70 mi) long, is indented by a number of creeks and bays, notably Dublin Bay, formed by Howth Head on the north. Dublin Bay receives the waters of the Liffey River, the only stream of consequence in the county. Several islands, including Lambay and Ireland’s Eye, are attached to the county for administrative purposes. The county has numerous small farms, the chief products of which are cattle, oats, and potatoes. The fishing industry is important, producing valuable catches of salmon, brill, cod, haddock, sole, plaice, and oysters. Industrial production is confined largely to Dublin, capital of the Republic of Ireland and county town and chief seaport of the county. Among the principal towns are D™n Laoghaire, Balbriggan, and Skerries. In 1985, Dublin County was subdivided into three new electoral counties: Dublin-Belgard, Dublin-Fingal, and D™n Laoghaire-Rathdown. Area, 922 sq km (356 sq mi); population (1991) 1,025,304.

Dublin (city, Republic of Ireland) (Gaelic Baile ┬ítha Cliath, “Town of the Ford of the Hurdles”), capital, county borough, and seaport of the Republic of Ireland, county town of county Dublin, in Leinster Province. It is at the mouth of the Liffey River, on Dublin Bay, an inlet of the Irish Sea. The city is linked by ship services with Cork, Ireland; Belfast, Northern Ireland; and various ports in England, Scotland, and France. It is also served by railroads that provide connections with important points in Ireland. From the Encarta 98 Encyclopedia

For more information go to the link on the rhs

Did you like this? Share it:
Some Text