Family Research – English, Scottish and Irish Genealogy


The Royal County of Berkshire

The Royal County of Berkshire lies to the west of London in the fertile Thames valley.

Following local government reorganisation in 1998 it ceased to be an administrative county, government having been devolved to six unitary district authorities.

This is not the first reorganisation to affect the county, in 1974 a number of major changes took place. A large area to the north west as far as Abingdon was transferred to Oxfordshire, and Slough (formerly in Buckinghamshire) became part of Berkshire.

Here are links to a number of sites with information about places, people and organisations throughout the area previously covered by Berkshire County Council from 1974 to 1998.

For more information go to the link on the rhs

Did you like this? Share it:
Some Text