Family Research – English, Scottish and Irish Genealogy


Chapman County Codes : Scotland

We complete our series listing the Chapman Codes for the UK with those for Scotland including the new region codes after 1975.

Prior to May 1975

ABD Aberdeenshire
ANS Angus (Formarly Forfarshire)
ARL Argyllshire (Includes Islay, Jura and Mull)
AYR Ayrshire
BAN Banffshire
BEW Berwickshire
BUT Bute (includes Arran and Bute)
CAI Caithness
CLK Clackmannanshire
DNB Dunbartonshire
DFS Dumfries-shire
ELN East Lothian
FIF Fife
INV Inverness-shire (includes Lewis (part), North Uist, South Uist, and Skye)
KCD Kincardineshire
KRS Kinross-shire
KKD Kirkcudbrightshire
LKS Lanarkshire
MLN Midlothian
MOR Morayshire
NAI Nairn
OKI Orkney
PEE Peebles-shire
PER Perth
RFW Renfrewshire (includes Lewis (part))
ROC Ross and Cromarty
ROX Roxburghshire
SEL Selkirkshire
SHI Shetland
STI Stirlingshire
SUT Sutherland
WLN West Lothian
WIG Wigtownshire

Regions (after May 1975)

Region Administrative Centre
BOR Borders Newton St. Boswells
CEN Central Stirling
DGY Dumfries and Galloway Dumfries
FIF Fife Glenrothes
GMP Grampian Aberdeen
HLD Highland Inverness
LTN Lothian Edinburgh
OKI Orkney Kirkwall
SHI Shetland Lerwick
STD Strathclyde Glasgow
TAY Tayside Dundee
WIS Western Isles Stornoway

Did you like this? Share it:
Some Text